New fuel labels for service stations: order your labels today from the NBN

By 12 October 2018, all filling station operators in Belgium – and in Europe – should have replaced the existing fuel labels on their fuel pumps and guns by the new European fuel identifiers. The new, harmonized fuel labels (around 28 in total) mark the different types of fuel available at the pump – from gasoline and diesel fuel thru’ to hydrogen and gas. The labels were designed to help consumers easily choose the correct fuel for their vehicles. You can order the Belgian labels for example from the NBN, the Belgian Bureau for Standardisation.

Clarity for consumers

Until today, every European fuel-dispensing unit had a label that indicates what type of fuel it provides. Those fuel identifiers, however, differ greatly from country to country. The different shapes, colours and languages are sometimes confusing for consumers, leading to misfuelling. 
 
In order to prevent this, the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) published the EN 16942 standard in October 2016. The standard describes the shape, size and colour of the labels and specifies where the fuel identification label must be placed. As newly-produced vehicles will be fitted with a similar label on the fuel filler neck, it will be easier for drivers to see what fuel is compatible for use with their vehicle.
 
The new labels indicate what type of fuel is available via simple black and white symbols.

Belgian version of European standard

The standard for these labels was developed by a European team but every country is allowed to slightly customize the fuel identifiers. In Belgium, the labels are available in Dutch and French and mention the NBN – the Bureau for Standardisation that rolls out the standard in Belgium and sells the labels.

Order your fuel identifiers from NBN

The NBN, together with its sectoral operators, is the Belgian knowledge centre for all activities related to standardisation. We help businesses, consumers, public authorities and other stakeholders strive  for higher quality by providing services related to the development, publication, dissemination and use of standards. In addition, NBN provides training on the use of management standards. 
 
Don’t wait too long.  Make sure you’re ready on 12 October. Order your labels now.
 
The price of the labels depends on the total number of labels ordered per order:
  • ≥ 500 labels: €2.00 / label
  • 100-499 labels: €2,50 / label
  • <100 labels: €3,00 / label
 
Do you need more information on the new standard and fuel identifiers? Get in touch with us or download the brochures “Fuel labelling for road vehicles”:

Autocollants pour les carburants pour les stations-service : commandez les nouveaux auprès du NBN

Le 12 octobre 2018 au plus tard, tous les opérateurs de stations-service en Belgique – et même dans toute l'Europe – devront avoir remplacé les autocollants pour les carburants sur leurs pompes et leurs pistolets par de nouveaux autocollants européens. Il existe au total environ 28 autocollants différents pour les divers types de carburant : de l'essence au diesel en passant par l'hydrogène. L'autocollant a pour but d'aider les consommateurs à choisir sans difficulté le bon carburant à la pompe. Vous pouvez commander la version belge des nouveaux autocollants entre autres auprès du NBN, le Bureau de Normalisation.

Plus de clarté pour le consommateur

Actuellement, chaque pompe à carburant européenne est munie d'un autocollant qui indique le type de carburant qu’elle délivre. Les autocollants diffèrent cependant fortement d'un pays à l'autre. Les diverses formes, couleurs et langues sont souvent source de confusion pour les consommateurs.
 
Afin de remédier à ces problèmes, le CEN, le Comité européen de Normalisation, a publié la norme EN 16942 en octobre 2016. Cette norme décrit la forme, la taille et la couleur des autocollants, et détermine l'endroit où ils doivent être collés sur les pompes. Étant donné que le même autocollant figure sur la trappe du réservoir des voitures neuves, le consommateur voit immédiatement le type de carburant spécifique que sa voiture utilise.
 
Les nouveaux autocollants indiquent, grâce à de simples symboles noir-blanc, le carburant qu’une pompe délivre.

La norme européenne au niveau belge

La norme pour ces autocollants a été créée dans un contexte européen, mais chaque pays peut, dans une certaine mesure, modifier le contenu des autocollants. En Belgique, les autocollants sont disponibles en français et en néerlandais. Ils mentionnent également le NBN, le Bureau de Normalisation, qui se charge de l'élaboration au niveau national de la norme et de la vente des autocollants.

Commandez vos autocollants pour les carburants auprès du NBN

Épaulé par ses opérateurs sectoriels, le NBN est le centre belge de connaissances pour toutes les activités ayant trait à la normalisation. Nous aidons les entreprises, les consommateurs, les pouvoirs publics et d'autres parties prenantes à tendre vers plus de qualité, en fournissant des services en lien avec le développement, la publication, la diffusion et l'utilisation des normes. Par ailleurs, le NBN organise des formations relatives à l'utilisation des normes de management.
 
N'attendez pas la dernière minute. Soyez prêt pour le 12 octobre. Commandez vos autocollants dès aujourd'hui.
 
Le prix des autocollants dépend du nombre total d'autocollants commandés par commande:
  • ≥ 500 autocollants: €2,00 / autocollant
  • 100-499 autocollants: €2,50 / autocollant
  • <100 autocollants: €3,00 / autocollant
 
N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour de plus amples informations sur la nouvelle norme et les autocollants pour les carburants. Ou téléchargez les brochures « Grandes lignes matériel d’étiquetage du carburant-véhicules » :